Reading Challenges 2015

Everyone loves a good challenge. Especially New Year’s ones. Being the English and Art teacher nerd that I am I decided to do more of both things. I’ve made a list of books I’d like to read this year and to hold myself accountable I’ve signed up for a few reading challenges on goodreads.com and within the blogosphere.

After reading Anna Karenina last year I realized I can do anything. So I’ve signed up for a challenge called “The Chunkster Challenge.” Essentially you just have to read some big books this year.

Here’s my list for that challenge:

Ulysses, by James Joyce

Midnight’s Chlidren by Salman Rushdie

The Goldfinch, by Donna Tart

IQ84 by Haruki Murakami

The Illuminaries, by Eleanor Catton

The Silmarillion, by JRR Tolkien. (Tried this one as a wee 13 year old. Maybe this time will be better?)

And maybe trying Game of Thrones and Finnegan’s Wake again if I’m feeling frisky. Fun fact, big book that no one should read: Clarissa by Samuel Richardson. I attempted for a class in college. No one finished. Our professor didn’t expect us to though.

Another challenge I’m doing is the Back to Classics Challenge 2015.

Here is my list for that challenge in each category.

1.  A 19th Century Classic: Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. (I have a passionate love-hate relationship with Jane Eyre and Charlotte Bronte so we’ll see how this one goes). 

2.  A 20th Century Classic: Brideshead Revisited, by Evelyn Waugh

3.  A Classic by a Woman Author: The Age of Inoncence, by Edith Wharton

4.  A Classic in Translation: The Sorrows of Young Werther, by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

5.  A Very Long Classic Novel: Ulysses, by James Joyce (I’m double-dipping from the Chunkster Challenge. Sue me.)

6.  A Classic Novella: Candide, by Voltaire

7.  A Classic with a Person’s Name in the Title: The Picture of Dorian Gray, by Oscar Wilde

8.  A Humorous or Satirical Classic: On the Road, by Jack Kerouac. (I find the Beats humorous).

9.  A Forgotten Classic: To Have and Have Not, by Ernest Hemingway

10.  A Nonfiction Classic: A Moveable Feast, by Ernest Hemingway

11.  A Classic Children’s Book: The Outsiders, by S.E. Hinton

12.  A Classic Play: Whichever Shakespeare I didn’t read in college.

Leave a Reply

