TBR Reading Challenge

I need lots of crazy challenges in my life so I have signed up for a third reading contest for 2015. This one is called the TBR Pile Challenge. Or the To-Be-Read Pile Challenge. TBH I have a lot of TBR in my life. Being a nerd, an English teacher, and someone who genuinely likes a lot of genres, I have a lot I want to read. And I am determined to read it all this year.

Yes. I can do it. Here is my massive TBR list in no particular order:

1. The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt

2, Ulysses, by James Joyce

3. Finish the rest of the Hunger Games. (I’m late to the party with this one, I know).

4. Midnight’s Children, by Salman Rushdie

5. IQ84 by Haruki Murakami

6. The Wind-up Bird Chronicle, by Haruki Murakami

7. The Illuminaires, by Eleanor Catton

8. The Lowland, by  Jhumpa Lahiri

9. The Help, by Kathryn Stockett

10. On the Road, by Jack Kerouac

11. Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck

12. The Sorrows of Young Werther

13. Detroit City is the Place to Be, by Mark Binelli

14. Kafka on the Shore, by Haruki Murakami

15. Everything is Illuminated, by Jonathan Safran Foer

16. Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn

17. Brideshead Revisted, by Evelyn Waugh

19. Unfamiliar Fishes, by Sarah Vowell (and also finish the Wordy Shipmates).

20. The History of White People, Nell Irvin Painter

21. Where’d You Go Bernadette?, by Maria Semple

22. Paper Towns, by John Green

23. An Abundance of Katherines, by John Green

24. Breakfast of Champions, by Kurt Vonnegut

25. Welcome to the Monkey House, by Kurt Vonnegut

26. Look at the Birdie, by Kurt Vonnegut

27. White Noise, by Don DeLillo

28. The Virgin Suicides, by Jeffrey Eugenides

29. On Beauty, by Zadie Smith

29. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, by Jonathan Safran Foer

30. For Whom the Bell Tolls, by Ernest Hemingway

31. The Glimpse of the Moon, by Edith Wharton

32. The Age of Innocence, by Edith Wharton

33. Night, by Elie Wiesel

34. Watership Down, by Richard Adams (I started reading this back in college, not sure what distracted me. Probably writing my thesis).

35. Brave New World, Aldous Huxley

36. A Clockwork Orange, by Anthony Burgess

37. The Kite Runner, by Khaled Hosseini

38. Vanity Fair, by William Makepeace Thackeray

39. Shirley Jackson Anthology

40. The Portable Dorothy Parker

41. The SIlmarillion, by JRR Tolkien. (Attempting yet again).

42. Candide, by Voltaire

43. Across the River and into the Trees, by Ernest Hemingway

44. The Snows of Kilimanjaro, by Ernest Hemingway

45. To Have and Have Not, by Ernest Hemingway

46. The Sound and the Fury, by William Faulkner

47. The Picture of Dorian Gray, by Oscar Wilde

48. Wuthering Heights, by Emily Bronte

49. Atonement, by Ian McEwan

50. The Time Traveler’s Wife, by Audrey Niffenegger

51. That Hideous Strength, by C.S. Lewis (the one book I omitted from my thesis because I ran out of time to read it).

52. Farenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury (I have no idea how I haven’t read this one. Don’t ask).

53. Olive. (A Scottish version of Jane Eyre my professor gave me before graduation. It’s been 4 years. I should read it).

54. All the Virginia Woolf books I haven’t read

55. Leaves of Grass, by Walt Whitman

56. The Satanic Verse, by Salman Rushdie

57. The Ground Beneath Her Feet, by Salman Rushdie (another failed collegiate attempt)

58. Gone With the Wind, by Margaret Mitchell

There you have it. Happy reading in 2015!

Leave a Reply

