HAMILTON

I am totally obsessed with the Hamilton musical. It’s an addiction. Another blogger explains it perfectly here. The internet loves this musical. Just look at tumblr and Buzzfeed. And listen to the soundtrack, you’ll be listening to those 46 songs for days.

200_s

Lin Manuel Miranda you are a musical genius. Here I detail my addiction in the form of poetry.

giphy5

 

 

ALEXANDER HAMILTON


The Hamilton soundtrack is like crack

the biography like candy

I haven’t been this addicted to something

since The Little Mermaid as a small child

or The Lord of the Rings as a preteen.

I love it more than I ever loved

1776, the former placeholder of my favorite musical

it mirrors though how I used to listen to the

Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat

soundtrack every day and pour over the lyrics sheet

like I was running out of time

There’s a million things I haven’t done

I’m hopeless

but I’m not throwing away my shot

Listening is easy, breaking this addiction is harder

but should I?

It fuels my nerd fire

it motivates me to get things done

How lucky am I to be alive right now?

I love you Hamilton

you were my first historical crush

(those are a thing)

this musical about you is my milieu

how does a bastard orphan immigrant

become a hero and a scholar?

There’s a million things I haven’t done

This is not a moment, it’s the movement

is anybody there?

Do you see what I see?

We are just like our country, young scrappy and hungry.

Rise up!

The country is older and colder or is it warmer

global warming is real.

We need more people who stand for their ideals

like Hamilton.

There’s a million things we haven’t done

we will never be satisfied.

I will write like I’m running out of time.

1 comment
  1. Rona said:

    Great read! And the poem sums up how perfectly I think everyone feels about Hamilton:

    ‘Listening is easy, breaking this addiction is harder
    but should I?
    It fuels my nerd fire
    it motivates me to get things’

    And thanks for the shout out 🙂

Leave a Reply

